## NEWFOUNDLAND AND LABRADOR BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS OF PUBLIC UTILITIES

## AN ORDER OF THE BOARD

NO. A.I. 25(2025)

IN THE MATTER OF the Automobile 1 2 Insurance Act, RSNL 1990, c. A-22, 3 as amended and regulations 4 thereunder; and 5 6 IN THE MATTER OF an application by 7 Liberty Mutual Insurance Company for 8 approval to implement a revised rating 9 program for its Interurban Trucks 10 category of automobile insurance. 11 12 13 WHEREAS on March 25, 2025 Liberty Mutual Insurance Company ("Liberty Mutual") applied to 14 the Board for approval of a revised rating program under the IAO filing option for its Interurban 15 Trucks category of automobile insurance; and 16 17 WHEREAS Liberty Mutual proposed to adopt the IAO rating program for Interurban Trucks 18 accepted for use by the Board in Information Bulletin A.I. 2024-04, which included an overall rate 19 level change of +13.8%; and 20 21 WHEREAS Liberty Mutual has no Interurban Trucks exposures and thus does not have sufficient 22 volume to justify a rating program based on company-specific data; and 23 24 WHEREAS the revised rating program is filed in accordance with the IAO Filing Guidelines; and 25 26 WHEREAS the Board is satisfied that the proposed rates are just and reasonable in the 27 circumstances, do not impair the solvency of the insurer, are not excessive in relation to the 28 financial circumstances of the insurer, and do not violate the Automobile Insurance Act or the 29 **Insurance Companies Act** or the respective regulations thereunder.

## 1 IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED THAT:

2

- 3 1. The revised rating program received March 25, 2025 from Liberty Mutual Insurance Company
- 4 for its Interurban Trucks category of automobile insurance is approved to be effective no
- 5 sooner than July 1, 2025 for new business.

DATED at St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador, this 30<sup>th</sup> day of May, 2025.

Kevin Fagan

Chair and Chief Executive Officer

John O'Brien, FCPA, FCA, CISA Commissioner

Christopher Pike, LL.B., FCIP Commissioner

Jo-Anne Galarneau Board Secretary